midnights in paris

Ah, Paris…

You are the City of Lights, with beautiful sights day and night, with royal architecture that can only be found in the Old World, with infinite gardens and parks – always the perfect spot to read a book and have a picnic – , with tiny cafés filled with chic Parisians sitting for hours and smoking their cigarettes, with boulangeries and patisseries that smell of freshly baked breads and smelly cheeses (the smellier, the better!)…the nutella crepes, the infinite number of museums, the complicated French language, the smelly streets and metros, the fashion…so much to take in at once!

Picnicking in front of the Eiffel Tower on Bastille Day
Picnicking in front of the Eiffel Tower on Bastille Day

New sights, smells, sensations, flavors surround me every day. Although I feel like I’m going to be here for so long, I know that’s not really the case. Actually, now that I think about it, almost two months have flown by. It’s time to write a “things I should do before I leave” list!

I’ll be adding to this list, of course, and if any of you have suggestions, go ahead and I’ll add them onto here!

  • Go to five four different markets in Paris (Marché des Enfants Rouges, check!)
  • Go to at least two one other city in France (I’ll be writing a post about Provins soon)
  • Go to a jazz bar/club (went to Caveau de la Huchette!)
  • Take a burlesque class
  • Take another burlesque class
  • Dance salsa at La Pachanga (8 euros for one drink and hours of dancing!)
  • Go to five four museums or more (The Louvre)
  • Take the stairs up to the second level of the Eiffel Tower
  • Go to a Franglish event
  • Have a picnic Have another picnic
  • Do a wine tasting (Did one at O’Chateau! Highly recommend it)
  • Go see a concert somewhere – preferably free (fireworks in La Defense, check!)
  • Have free mussels and fries (Did so at Tribal)
  • Go to an absinthe bar
  • Go to a boulangerie without messing my French up
  • VIsit Deyrolle, a strange taxidermy shop
  • Buy something useful from a thrift shop (I bought some great shoes at La REcyclérie’s thrift shop)
  • Go to a secret bar
  • Visit La Petite Ceinture, an abandoned railway in Paris (check my blog post out!)
  • Have brunch at La REcyclerie
  • Buy some macaroons 
  • Be conversational in French
  • Go to four three two other countries in my time here (Switzerland and Spain, check!)

Any cool suggestions? I’m sure you have a ton! Comment below and I’ll be waiting to see what you have to say!

P.S.: expect a reminiscent post about Australia soon!

positive vibes & good energy

-tash

Leave a Reply

